Musee Rodin

Standard
Musee Rodin

Visited: June 25th, 2011

All this day all the reasons I declared Art History as my second major came forth. As we walked through all the buildings I kept rattling off all the information I knew from my classes and independent reading. At this museum… I was impassioned and those same reasons became solidified.

I had been introduced to Rodin and his famous The Thinker (1902) prior to this museum visit, but I had never really familiarized myself with his other works or style. I fell in love. He did sculptures, most of which are free-standing (meaning not affixed to any surface). All them forced you to move around them and interact with them. The most tangible way to explain this is that when I photographing the pieces, on some of them, I could not tell where to take the first photo. Generally, you take a photo of the front and then move around. On many of the pieces there were no fronts or backs, they were completely three-dimensional. My pictures do not capture the actual pieces and although I have already been here, I am definitely returning to this museum.

Explanations of pictures (there are a lot): I didn’t realize that there were labels on the outdoors pieces and when I tried to capture the ones I saw it did not turn out. So many of the pieces are not labeled. I was able to capture some of the indoor labels with practice. I struggled with lighting on the bronze pieces, but I think I was able to get good shots.

Monet & Rodin were apparently close friends and colleagues. There was an exhibition going on that show cased works of both artists which the other artist had held on to until death. There were also some letters written between the two artists. I’m definitely planning on researching this relationship more! Relationships between well-known artists are always interesting. You would suspect there to be intense competition, from what I understand there generally is. However, there is also a very intimate interaction between two artists’ relationship and their individual works. I would love too see how this relationship was reflected in their respective works and areas of expertise.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses »

  1. Really, this is fascinating – you are so involved in what you are doing and seeing. It’s so cool you get to see all this art together, making connections among the pieces and artists, and all that. Awesome!

Leave a Reply

